BJP rewards spokespersons, bows to local factors in Rajya Sabha candidates' list

RS Poll Mamata Banerjee announces TMC's support for Abhishek Manu Singhvi from West Bengal

RS polls: Abhishek Singhvi, Kumar Ketkar among 10 Congress candidates

Snubbing JD (S), the Congress has announced L Hanumanthaiah, GC Chandrashekhar and Syed Naseer Hussain as its candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections. "We have to wait till March 23 to see who will be the fourth candidate to win". The last date to withdraw is March 15.

Seven of the 18 names announced by the BJP are from Uttar Pradesh. Along with Rane, BJP is going to send Union minister Prakash Javadekar to the Upper House, but their third nominee has not been announced yet.

In UP there are 10 seats up for grabs. The JD (S) does not have the votes to elect its candidate as seven of its legislators have rebelled while two have resigned making it a hard proposition for its candidate, business tycoon B.M. Farooq.

The ruling BJP is set to increase its tally from Maharashtra in the Rajya Sabha and also in the state Legislative Council, given its improved strength in the 288-member Legislative Assembly post the 2014 polls.

Anil Baluni, the national head of the BJP's media wing, has been named from Uttarakhand, while Saroj Pandey, who is presently the general secretary of the party, has been named from Chattisgarh.

Lt General DP Vats, Rajeev Chandrasekhar and Sameer Uranv are contesting from Haryana, Karnataka and Jharkhand respectively.

U.S. says committed to Kenya on trade, security
Meanwhile Odinga said the time was now to forget the past differences and disagreements, to move forward as one nation. US Secretary of State Rex Tillerson on Saturday canceled his events in Kenya because he was feeling unwell . "...

A first round exit for Clemson? Charles Barkley thinks so
Despite a historic season, the Tigers stumbled to the finish line, losing four of their last six games. The last time Clemson was in the big dance, the program also advanced to the ACC Tournament semifinals.

Protesting farmers reach Mumbai, traffic woes loom
The protest has embarrassed the BJP-led state government, which claimed to take various measures to tackle farmers' crisis. The journey which started from CBS Chowk, Nashik on March 5 is expected to end at the Vidhan Bhavan here on March 12.

Ajay Pratap Singh and Kailash Soni will contest from Madhya Pradesh.

BJP on Sunday night nominated former Kerala unit chief V Muralidharan from Maharashtra in its bid to expand its base in the state. Lingaiah Yadav from erstwhile Nalgonda district bagged the RS nomination under the Yadav community quota as promised by the Chief Minister.

Party president Rahul Gandhi cleared the names, which include former Union minister Naranbhai Rathwa and party spokesperson Amee Yajnik from Gujarat, senior leader Dhiraj Prasad Sahu from Jharkhand, former state minister Rajmani Patel from Madhya Pradesh and former Union minister Porika Balram Naik from Telangana.

Congress is yet to name its candidate.

In Andhra Pradesh, the Telugu Desam Party has re-nominated C M Ramesh, a businessman.

Latest News