BJP Releases First List Of 72 Candidates For Karnataka Assembly Polls

BJP chief Amit Shah. PTI

BJP chief Amit Shah. PTI

Congress on Tuesday clarified that it had not released any list of candidates for the Assembly elections in Karnataka.

As soon as news of the list broke out, Congress announced that the list was fake. Jolle is presently the sitting member of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly. The sources claimed that their party would see much less infighting and rebellion than the BJP as it will reach out to the rebels.

BJP's chief ministerial candidate for Karnataka, BS Yeddyurappa appeared unfazed despite Lingayat seers lending support to the Congress.

Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah on Wednesday said the Congress party had not yet finalised the list of candidates for the upcoming state assembly polls and that a "fake" list was in circulation to create confusion.

Iraq says 'deadly raid' hit Islamic State group in Syria
Iranian Defense Minister Amir Hatami on Wednesday arrived in Iraqi capital Baghdad for a visit not publicized in advance. This article was republished with permission from the Daily Caller News Foundation.

Police taze 'combative' American Airlines passenger
According to an arrest report, Garcia - who lives in Chicago - was accused by another passenger of touching his girlfriend. Video shot inside the terminal shows the man still arguing with officers as they load him onto a security golf cart.

Sylvester Stallone weighs in over pardon for the Galveston Giant
On Saturday, Trump tweeted that he had just learned about Johnson from an actor famous for playing a fictional - white - boxer. Jackson fled the country to escape prison but returned in 1920 to serve his sentence, spending ten months in prison.

The list was released by senior leader JP Nadda after party's top brass met last night to decide on the candidate list.

Veteran state leaders Jagadish Shettar and KS Eswarappa would contest from Hubli Dharwad Central and Shimoga Assembly seats, respectively, media reports said.

The list of names was made public following a meeting of the BJP's Central Election Committee at the party headquarters in Delhi. However, Yeddyurappa merged the entity with the BJP before the 2014 Lok Sabha elections and was elected to the Lok Sabha. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj and former Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa were in attendance at the meeting, among others.

Latest News